CALL US NOW 020 7939 0780

The All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Haemophilia and Contaminated Blood

The All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Haemophilia and Contaminated Blood is a cross party group of MPs and members of the House of Lords who share an interest in bleeding disorders and the contaminated blood scandal.

The core purpose of the group is to promote awareness of, and campaign for, people with haemophilia and other bleeding disorders and people infected with blood-borne viruses due to contaminated blood and blood products used in their healthcare treatment.

The group is led by Labour MP Diana Johnson and Conservative MP Sir Peter Bottomley alongside ten vice-chairs including MPs from all major parties represented in parliament.

The group meets regularly to get updates on developments in bleeding disorder care and treatment and on the inquiry into the historical use of contaminated blood and blood products. It seeks to represent the needs of these communities in parliament and in engagement with Government, Government bodies, the Infected Blood Inquiry and the NHS.

The secretariat to the APPG is provided by The Haemophilia Society. In this role it maintains the membership information of the APPG and facilitates meetings of the APPG in conjunction with the chairs.

The current work of the APPG focuses on:

  • Access to treatment and care for people with bleeding disorders
  • Campaigning for improvements to the Infected Blood Support Schemes

APPG Inquiry into Access to Treatment inquiry
The All-Party Parliamentary Group on Haemophilia and Contaminated Blood has undertaken an inquiry into the current systems of licensing, procurement, commissioning and prescription of treatments for genetic bleeding disorders in the UK.

The final report of the inquiry was published in November 2020 and documents the current processes and practices in bleeding disorder care and treatment in the UK. with a focus on how these processes impact on the treatments that patients are offered and can be offered by the NHS. It will show where the processes are working well and when they are not and make recommendations for how the processes could be changed to improve access to treatments and outcomes for people with bleeding disorders.

Contaminated Blood and Blood Products

The officers of the APPG regularly correspond with the Department of Health and Social Care on the support available to people affected by contaminated blood. All letters and replies are available on this website. Read the APPG correspondence here.

The Group also undertook an inquiry into the support for those affected by the contaminated blood scandal in the UK which was published in January 2015.  Read the full report (PDF) or the executive summary (PDF).

The APPG reformed after the 2019 election with an inaugural meeting on the 11 February 2020.

The Co-Chairs of the Group are:

  • Diana Johnson MP
  • Sir Peter Bottomley MP

The APPG is keen to welcome new members to support their work and ensure haemophilia, bleeding disorders and the contaminated blood scandal remain on the political agenda. We encourage the affected community to contact their MP and ask them to join the APPG by contacting the co-chairs or The Haemophilia Society on

The Current membership of the APPG is:

Alison Thewliss MP SNP
Andy Slaughter MPLabour
Anthony Mangnall MPConservative
Barbara Keeley MPLabourVice Chair
Baroness Bottomley of NettlestoneConservative
Baroness Campbell of SurbitonCrossbencher
Baroness Grey – ThompsonCrossbencher
Baroness Masham of ItonCrossbencher
Baroness MeacherCrossbencher
Baroness Ritchie of DownpatrickNon-AlignedOfficer
Ben Spencer MPConservative
Bob Seely MPConservative
Caroline Dinenage MPConservative
Caroline Lucas MPGreen
Catherine West MPLabourVice Chair
Chris Stephens MPSNPVice Chair
Colm Eastwood MPSDLP
Dame Diana Johnson MPLabourChair
Damian Hinds MPConservative
Dan Carden MPLabour
Dr Philippa Whitford MPSNPVice Chair
Gavin Robinson MPDUP
Ian Lavery MPLabour
Jason McCartney MPConservativeVice Chair
Jessica Morden MPLabourVice Chair
Jim McMahon MPLabour
Jo Stevens MPLabourVice Chair
Lord OatesLib Dem
Pete Wishart MPSNP
Robbie Moore MPConservative
Sharon Hodgson MPLabour
Sir George Howarth MPLabour
Sir Peter Bottomley MPConservativeCo-Chair
Stuart McDonald MPSNP
Tommy Sheppard MPSNP
Wayne David MPLabour
Yasmin Qureshi MPLabour


This is not an official website of the House of Commons or the House of Lords. It has not been approved by either House or its committees. All Party Parliamentary Groups are informal groups of Members of both Houses with a common interest in particular issues. The views expressed in these webpages are those of the Group.